The Isarco valley

The Isarco Valley is characterised by a varied fauna and flora. With 80 km of length this is one of the biggest valleys in South Tyrol stretching from the source of the Isarco River at Brennero Pass to Bolzano, where it flows into the Adige River.

The Isarco Valley divides the Stubai Alps and the Sarntal Alps from the Zillertal Alps and the Dolomites. The northern part is characterised by thousands of years old glaciers and majestic mountain chains. Beyond the bishops' town of Bressanone to the south the valley gets broader and is characterised by vineyards and orchards, which find an ideal mild and sunny climate in this area.

The Isarco valley: peaks and meadows in an exclusive combination

The Puez-Odle Nature Park is located in this valley basin. The resort is protected due to its flora and fauna, which also includes the Geisler Mountain Group, which was declared a World Natural Heritage Site by UNESCO. The Visitors' Centre of the Puez-Odle Nature Park is located in S. Maddalena in Funes.

The main town of the Isarco Valley is Bressanone, the oldest city in South Tyrol. Other important towns are Vipiteno, a small city, which looks back upon a glorious past thanks to the silver mines, and Chiusa, which is part of the Association of the most beautiful villages in Italy ("I borghi più belli d’Italia") since 2002.

The Isarco Valley provides an ideal holiday destination in summer and winter. The valley offers six ski resorts with cable cars, which are also open in summer and bring you up to idyllic excursion destinations. Not only do these villages offer a splendid landscape and unspoiled nature, but thanks to their good infrastructures and services, they also meet the requirements of demanding visitors.

Services and multimedia:
Events you should not miss:
Find your hotel

A brochure with 5 must-see locations as a gift for you!

Sign up for the Newsletter.

Privacy law